Pinterest

Pinterest definitely creates value for the PR field, PR professionals, and their clients.  It’s a free tool open to anyone, and it is quickly attracting all types of people with varying interests.  Social media platforms, especially ones as popular as Pinterest are a necessity for PR professionals to utilize for themselves and their clients.  It’s free publicity…and good publicity at that.  What else could you ask for?

Unfortunately, I do think Pinterest is a fad.  And like all other fads, it will eventually die out.  It’s hot now though, and that’s all that matters from a PR perspective.  People need to jump on it now, and who knows?  It could be around for a while before the next new thing comes out.

I have a Pinterest account but do not often repin items.  I just “officially” made an account and probably have not started using it like I know I will eventually.  I don’t want to become too addicted, because I have lots of important things going on in my life and I do not have hours to devote to the internet and sites like Pinterest.  But when needed, the site is very useful for so many reasons.

I would highly recommend Pinterest to co-workers, friends, family, etc.  It is a great social media tool and is also very useful for everyday needs and entertainment.  I use it to look up recipes, design ideas, arts and crafts, home decor, etc.  The unique thing about the site is that everyone can find something of interest and mold their virtual bulletin board to their likes and tastes.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. khilson
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 00:30:48

    I too highly recommend Pinterest to friends and coworkers even though I don’t have an account because as you know, neither of us have any time to waste via the internet and social media! 🙂

    Reply

  2. marleymizell
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 03:15:46

    I really hope Pinterest isn’t just a fad (even though I know it is). I have my entire wedding planned out on that site and hope it is still around in 10 years for me to go back and use! haha

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Pinterest Comments « Marleymizell's Blog

Leave a Reply

