The holiday no one TRULY looks forward to…

Ohhh, Valentine’s Day.  Let me just start out by saying that I am NOT a “single, bitter, man-hater” in the least.  I am in a great relationship with someone I care about a lot.  That being said, let’s be real.  Valentine’s Day is totalBS.  Period.  It’s the biggest holiday scam there ever was.  Not to mention it typically ends with someone having unmet expectations, and someone else out a few hundred bucks.  Who wins there?  No one.

Valentine’s Day also comes with some of the most ridiculous gifts.  It drives me CRAZY to walk through Walmart and see the life-size bears and stuffed animals.  I’m sorry, but they are horrendous and impractical.  If you’re the kind of guy who thinks I want that in my room, you’re wrong, and you’re probably not my type.  Is is mean to say that I don’t like the type of girls that are into that?  And I definitely don’t like the guys that think that’s a good gift.  Save yourself the time, money, and embarrassment, and do not buy a giant stuffed-anything.

Good gifts are gifts that could be given year round.  Something that is thoughtful and not last-minute.  Here are some examples of what you should or shouldn’t do if you’re having a hard time differentiating.

Good Gift: Anything thoughtful.  If you know this person so well, you know what (if anything) they’re expecting.  A romantic dinner?  A piece of jewelry?  A home-cooked meal and movie in?  A night out downtown?  I’m sure you’ll figure it out.

Bad Gift: A box of chocolate, a teddy bear, and a card.  Oh thanks, did you run by Walgreens before coming to pick me up?  It shows.

I have definitely received my fair-share of horrible gifts.  And depending on how well you do or don’t know the person, tell them what’s on your mind.  Or better yet, warn them ahead of time, before they made the mistake.  Even if you have to awkwardly laugh as you walk by a Valentine’s display in good ol’ Statesboro Walmart, make the point of saying, “I never liked giant stuffed animals.  What am I going to do with a six-foot hot pink dolphin?  I’d much rather just have a romantic low-key night…” DO HIM A FAVOR AND DROP HIM A HINT!

Even though this goes against my being…
From a public relations standpoint, if I worked for a company that relied heavily on Valentine’s Day sales, I would focus on targeting suckers who think that girls really want, or need (oops), the 100-sampler chocolate box or the “I love you” teddy bear.  I would make my commercials as lovey-dovey as possible, and trick viewers into thinking that their special someone will fall in love with them if only they buy our Valentine’s Day package.  Offer discounts if multiple items are purchased.  Jack up the prices.  Everyone else does.  But check locally and make sure you’re the lowest price around.  Just know who you’re targeting.  That’s my best advice.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Victoria Evans
    Feb 15, 2012 @ 01:59:33

    Bahahahaha! You are so right! Valentine’s Day is ridiculous! It is such a Hallmark holiday. The only thing I like about Valentine’s Day is the warm fuzzy feeling I get when my boyfriend does something nice. (not buy me stuffed animals) I think that company’s currently focus on the suckers and that is why they make so much money off of the holiday.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Comments on Blogs « Victoria's Fun Blog
  3. christina890
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 03:31:25

    Haha I agree with everything that you said! No one actually likes Valentine’s Day, and there’s no way people actually like the giant stuffed animals covered in hearts. I also love what you said about having to drop a hint for guys. Regardless of how long you’ve dated them, they’re still guys and hints always help!

    Reply

  4. PRbetty
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 11:47:27

    Hints are definitely a great idea for girls to do, when you want gifts that matter from a guy. You can be blatant or subtle depending on what type of personality you are and who you are giving the hints too.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: PRCA 3030 Comments « PR Betty
  6. sarahmargegan
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 12:21:06

    I agree with you! The whole teddy bear, chocolates, and flowers thing does not cu it for most girls. I think any public relations practitioner would have to dig deep to create a campaign that allowed girls to think these gifts are cool.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Valentines comments: | sarahmargegan

Leave a Reply

