Role Models

Growing up I had role models, but the older I got, the more I realized some of the people I looked up to the most led extremely disappointing lifestyles, and I idolized them for all of the wrong reasons.  When you’re younger, you place people on a pedestal and are totally blind to any of their faults or wrongdoings.  Granted, I was a child, so the “important” things weren’t always so obvious, and sometimes you respected adults for the wrong reasons.

Google defines a role model as “A person looked to by others as an example to be imitated.”  …There aren’t many of those.  And recently, I’ve become very disappointed with the people I looked up to the most.  So rather than have a real-person role model that I look up to and try to imitate, I have more of an “idea” as a role model.  All of the qualities and characteristics that I would expect from a role model, are the same qualities I aim to achieve.  So I kind of have this picture painted of the person I want to be one day.  I’m only human, so I know I can never be perfect, but I want to inspire someone with my personality, drive, and ambition.  Then maybe I can be a role model to someone someday 🙂

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. carriepulliam
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 22:44:50

    It sucks when you’ve looked up to someone and then later on realize that person isn’t AT ALL what you thought. Disappointing, huh?
    But it’s very interesting that you have this mental image of who you aspire to be. I guess this prevents from duplication of someone else; you become your own person with your own characteristics. Well done.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: TOTW Comments: Role Model « Hey, it's me.
  3. ashleycrand
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 14:14:20

    I don’t look up to one person in particular either. Sometimes its difficult to find someone to look up to.

    Reply

  4. amandakep
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 20:51:54

    Wow, great post. You’re very right that there have been many people growing up that I would idolize until I discovered something disappointing. I can still safely look up to my family and some good friends, but as far as celebrities and other people in your life, I’ve also found you can’t always depend on.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Comments « Transformation
  6. winiwe
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 00:25:09

    I completely understand looking up to the wrong people for the wrong reasons. I did that when I was younger too. You think that just because someone’s older and are allowed to make their own choices (whether right or wrong) that they are cool. At the end of the day, it’s important to look up at people who are responsible and successful in life. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Trackback: My Role Model ~ Comments « winiwe
  8. ataunton1
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 01:37:24

    That is pretty smart to have an image that you strive for instead of a person. At least that way you know that your role model won’t ever let you down.

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Comments « ataunton1
  10. tinaspeak
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 10:42:13

    that was definitely an interesting way to go about it. It’s true though, not one person can anebody everything you want to be, it’s kind of up to you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

