Media Pressure

The media plays a large role in the lives of most women, and even some men too.  People look to the media for new and upcoming trends, what’s acceptable and what’s not, and how they should feel.

100 years ago, I’m sure little girls didn’t look in mirrors wishing they were thinner, or taller, or more developed, etc.  But now with the media constantly publishing images of perfect women with flawless bodies, it’s hard to not at least compare yourself a little.

Of course we shouldn’t let that affect us, but we do, and who can help it?  When I see magazine covers with women in bikinis exclaiming, “I had a baby less than TWO months ago and have already lost 40 lbs!” etc, even I’m like, “woah…”  …And I’m not even a very self-conscious person.

The media’s job is to sell stories, and that’s what they do.  It’s not realistic to compare ourselves to picture of perfection that the media paints for us.  People judge themselves off of something that is not even achievable for most, and it often becomes an obsession.

From a public relations standpoint, many groups have launched campaigns to encourage girls to be happy with their own body, and I feel that’s a great start.  Dove started the “Campaign for Real Beauty” which shows real women who “love the skin they’re in.”

Strategies such as these are a great start to maybe reversing this “image of perfection” that the media has put into our heads over the years.

image: http://mammon.typepad.com/root_of_all_evil/2009/11/how-they-sold-the-dove-campaign-for-real-beauty.html

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. khilson
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 03:59:21

    I must live in a hole because I haven’t heard anything about the DOVE campaign. I think its a great idea and I really hope that it gets through to some people. I wish the media would do more things like this campaign to show girls and all women and even some men that they are beautiful as themselves.

    Reply

  2. ggonzalez33
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 03:47:02

    I love the dove champaign! Did you know that recently Vogue embraced a “plus sized model” on their pages? I love the progress!

    Reply

  3. winiwe
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 23:29:07

    I like the Dove campaign as well. I think there should be a lot more like it. Like with the Dove campaign, women should at least be the target audience to begin with. Even though I am a man, and understand where men get self conscious on how they look, women have undergone the most “commercial trauma.” I like the part where you said : “100 years ago, I’m sure little girls didn’t look in mirrors wishing they were thinner, or taller, or more developed, etc.” That is something we often forget: less than a 100 years ago, it was more attractive to be fat; it meant you were well fed and therefore wealthy.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Media and Self Perception Comments « winiwe
  5. jarenturner9
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 02:59:42

    I forgot about the DOVE campaign! It was a great way to try and get people to feel good about themselves and the way they look.

    Reply

  6. empyreus
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 03:03:56

    I had love that dove commercial… it portrayed real women with real bodies. great example

    Reply

Leave a Reply

