Technology in 50 years?

Wow.  It’s hard to imagine what “they” could possibly come out with next, but I’m sure it’ll happen.  Ten years ago, I had my first AOL e-mail account and patiently waited on dial-up internet–and then got mad when someone picked up the home phone because it would disconnect my session.  I feel like a dinosaur thinking of dial-up now as I type this on my MacBook using super-fast wireless internet.  I definitely love the change though. 🙂

I got my first cell phone at 16, and believe me, it was nothing like phones are today!  It was a Nokia “brick” and was not in color.  (You know, the old digital green screens with black writing?)

I was so excited to have that phone, and I never imagined I’d have anything like I do now.  My Droid EVO has 4G and about a million other things, and once again, I can’t imagine WHAT could be added to make it better, but I’m sure it’ll happen.

In 50 years when I’m in my 70s, I have no IDEA what technology will be like.  I’m sure we’ll become a lot more digital, with touch screens through our homes, cars that essentially drive themselves, and oh-so-many more “futuristic” inventions.  The few things we still do manually– (ie lock up the house, turn on the tv, park our cars, etc.) I think will change in the next 50 years.  I think a lot more things will be motion detected or voice activated, though who knows?  We have come so far in the past DECADE, I can’t imagine what life will be like in another half century.

I wonder if everything on the internet will still be saved, (or if the internet (as we know it) will still exist?) and some sixteen-year-old 50 years from now will find this post and laugh at me?  Or maybe I can read my old blogs posts in 50 years and laugh at myself 🙂

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. khilson
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 03:47:57

    I mentioned my “brick” Nokia too! I used to love playing snake on that phone! But it is so crazy has fast technology has changed and I am almost scared to see what else could be added!

    Reply

  2. ggonzalez33
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 04:48:17

    I totally rememember those lousy screens! I also remember that SNAKE was favorite game to play! Ha

    Reply

  3. amandakep
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 06:18:18

    I can’t really talk about the “brick” from my personal ownership. Although before I got my own cell phone I would mess around on my mom’s and play those fantastic games! I definitely agree with you that technology, even as easy as it makes things now, is going to keep progressing and making simple tasks completely effortless.

    Reply

  4. Yasmine Horton
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 08:43:54

    My email account was with MSN’s hotmail which I’m pretty sure no one uses anymore. I thought I was so cool chatting people up via email. Since then I’ve created more adult email accounts because the name I had for my MSN should never be repeated or typed for that matter haha.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Comments I Made « The World of PRCA
  6. kaylamcglashan
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 00:30:47

    I talked about how big cell phones were too. I agree, I have no idea what the technology is going to be like 50 years from now. Things change so rapidly, and there is a definite change just in the past couple years. We have gone from 2g to 3g to 4g. I can only imagine 50 years.

    Reply

  7. ashleycrand
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 05:32:40

    Cell phones used to be so huge! My iPhone is definitely a lot cooler than my old Nokia.

    Reply

  8. winiwe
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 03:59:20

    I def. think voice activation will become more common. It already happens a lot now in government and military. We even already have it on our phones for a lot of things, but I think it will at some point be perfected and mass produced. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Comments « winiwe

Leave a Reply

