End of the Semester

Wow, college really is flying by fast.  Next year is my last year–I will be graduating in May! (hopefully)  This semester has flown by, and really hasn’t been that stressful. (Thank goodness)

Intro. to PR has really been an awesome class.  I feel that I learned a lot, but that it wasn’t too stressful or over-complicated.  No busy work or last minute assignments, and nothing too crazy.  Not all of the group projects worked very well, but those are just lessons learned for future references.  I feel like I took what I needed to out of the class, and that’s all that’s important. 🙂
I’m also in News Reporting & Writing, and while it, too, covers press and news releases, it concentrates more on the journalistic approach.  From these two classes, I have definitely learned that I am an independent worker, and prefer to do things on my own.  Other people are unreliable, late, and usually do not perform to my own standards.  Dealing with disappointment and frustration makes me realize that it’s easier to get things done right, the first time, and on my own.  That may be the biggest thing I’ve learned this semester.

This semester has been my easiest, and a lot of fun as well.  I got an awesome new job last February in marketing, and I’ve already gotten so much out of it.  I quit my crappy bar job, and am getting a lot more sleep as a result 🙂  I made a few new friends, signed a lease on a fantastic new apartment next year, and got two baby ducks 🙂  My boyfriend and I hit the one-year mark, my little sister got into Southern, and I have definitely learned more this semester than I have any other.  I really hope my last year can continue on like this one has!  I have definitely taken the most out of this semester, and learned what exactly I might be doing job wise once I graduate.  It’s a great feeling, and I can’t wait to graduate and (hopefully) get a job!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bellag1
    May 03, 2011 @ 22:26:27

    This year has been a great one and I cannot believe I will be a senior as well. Time really does fly! I hope you enjoy the rest of your time here!

    Reply

  2. Yasmine Horton
    May 05, 2011 @ 00:57:03

    I completely agree, Intro to PR was not overly complicated which really made me happy. I have so much fun in this class and now I look forward to a career in PR even more!

    Reply

  3. rgn17
    May 06, 2011 @ 22:31:43

    I also loved this class. It was probably the only class I actually liked this semester. And congrats on the new job! I assume working for Nathan at Retrievers was not too much fun.

    Reply

  4. shalew
    May 07, 2011 @ 00:18:50

    I agree that I have also learned a lot from this class. I also kind of got an idea of what I wanted to do when I graduate! It is the best feeling when you feel that you have a little direction in your life!

    Reply

  5. Trackback: End of Semester Comments | shalew

Leave a Reply

