The Best Advice

Whenever I needed a shoulder to cry on, I would always find my mom.  She is so non-judgmental and always gave me the best advice, knowing exactly what I needed to hear.  But through the tough times, whatever they may have been, she always reminded me that though it may have felt like it, it was not the end of the world.

The best advice I’ve ever been given is not really advice, but more of just a philosophy to always remember–Life goes on.  No matter what happened, whether it be a back-stabbing friend, a bad grade, a stressful situation, a heartbreak, or anything else, Mom would always remind me that I would get over it, and that in no time, whatever I was going through would be a thing of the past.  And even though sometimes I felt like I would never get through it, somehow Mom always ended up being right.  Life went on, I lived through it, and I have since forgotten about so many things that once seemed like the end of the world.

I can’t say I always took her advice to calm down or relax, even though I always look back and know I should have.  I am a very high-stressed, tense person, and it takes a lot of convincing for me to stop stressing out.  I’m a little better about it now–I am able to look past the current moment and know that there’s a future beyond now, but Mom’s advice has always helped, because I just remember that no matter what, life does go on.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. amandakep
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 03:51:50

    I’m the same way, my mom is my number one go-to person. She brings me back to reality to realize that things are never as bad as they seem. It’s easy to lose sight of that and forget that life goes on, and that we’re going to be fine in the end. Thank God for moms 🙂

    Reply

  2. bellag1
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 09:34:42

    I’m also the same way. My mom has always been my main source of advice and reassurance. If it weren’t for her, I don’t know where I’d be. As you mentioned at the bottom, life really does go on no matter what happens!

    Reply

  3. ryanmatherly
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 03:42:16

    It’s definitely a good point, it’s tough to move forward after something happens. Sometimes it seems like it won’t ever get better. But it’s good that life really does go on and eventually it will get better, regardless.

    Reply

  4. mdlarotta
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 10:44:32

    I agree…life does go on. It’s amazing how mothers have the unique ability to make everything seem a little less sever than it is…and sometimes just put things into proportion. I too wish I had listened to my parents’ advice more when I was younger, maybe life wouldn’t have seemed so hard at times.

    Reply

  5. shalew
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 06:41:11

    This was great advice and I totally agree with you that life does go on. No matter how bad a situation or circumstance may seem at the moment the hard times will pass and life will get better. No one always has a bad day! It’s hard to remember this while you are going through something but it’s a great feeling to look back and think of what you over came.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Comments | shalew
  7. ashleycrand
    Apr 15, 2011 @ 21:40:08

    My mom is definitely my go-to advice giver. She is always there for me when I need her.

    Reply

  8. wshurling
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 02:37:40

    I am proud to say I am a mama’s boy and she to once gave me this life lesson. It has helped me through many tough situations where it seems as if you will never overcome them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

