The High School Me

“Hindsight is 20/20”

I’m always thinking, “If only…” or “If I had known…” or “I wish someone had told me…” but the fact of the matter is, who I am and the life I lived is what put me here today.

I’ve grown up a lot, and there’s a lot to say about that, but I am pretty sure I have stayed relatively the same.  I have always had a huge heart, hated drama, loved talking and making friends, and cared about my grades and jobs a lot.  I have the same core, I’ve just become more responsible, more appreciative, and more understanding person.  I manage my own time now, and I, alone, am responsible for my actions.

I definitely wish I could have given myself some advice about boys and priorities, but it’s hard to convince any 16-year-old that what they’re doing at the moment isn’t in their best interest in the long run.

In high school I was more immature, energetic, involved, and high strung.  I’ve learned to relax a little more, and to not go above and beyond on absolutely everything.  I pace myself and set realistic goals and expectations for myself, and I don’t get too disappointed if I try my hardest and don’t get the results I was expecting.

Overall, I am happy where I am today, and I am proud of what I have done so far in life.  I think I have the potential to be successful, and the adult that I am becoming today started to evolve from teenager I was in high school.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. winiwe
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 12:10:36

    I would definitely agree I’ve calmed down a whole lot too. My freshman year was my time to REALLY figure out who I was, although I’m learning more and more about myself with every year I live. I am a very complex person and I tend to take life as it comes to me. I am also similar to you in that even though “I wish someone had told me ____”, I believe everything happens for a reason. Everything I’ve gone through has made me the person I am today. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Comments on “Then and Now” « winiwe
  3. carriepulliam
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 21:40:59

    It’s painful to say but I told my mom not too long ago, “You were right; I should have listened to you.” Her eyes got HUGE, laughed, then did a victory dance.

    I think it shows a lot of growth when you’re able to admit that to your parents.

    My teeth would cringe when my mom would talk to me about boys, grades, etc. At 15 and 16 we know everything, right? But if I could go back and talk to me then it would be, “LISTEN TO MOM!”

    Reply

  4. Trackback: TOTW Comments « carriepulliam
  5. Yasmine Horton
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 23:57:29

    I think its really hard to tell teenagers anything. When my mom would tell me stuff too I would cringe but I think in the end we learn from ourselves and other people’s mistakes.

    Reply

  6. khilson
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 22:27:47

    Wow- I feel like we could have been best friends in high school! haha I was super involved and felt like I had to do absolutely everything to get into college and now that I’m here, I’m more relaxed and realized that not EVERYTHING has to be perfect. I’ve grown up a lot and am definitely more appreciative but have my same core too… its really funny I feel like you took the words right out of my mouth! 🙂

    Reply

  7. WatzNew
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 09:01:44

    I agree. As a teenager we make mistakes and no one can tell us right from wrong. We learn a lot through experiences. Its true to just take a day at a time nowadays and not stress over things. Everything eventually will work itself out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

