Social Media

Social media has become such a huge part of most people’s lives.  I don’t know anyone that regularly goes a week without checking their e-mail, facebook, twitter, or something else of the sort.  We rely on our social media outlets to communicate, to keep in touch with friends, to learn about the hottest new products and deals available, and just about everything else.

People could go without tv or radio, but ask them to give up their social media outlets?  Never.  The world would panic, and people would not easily adjust to such a change under any normal circumstance.

Being born in 1990, I really grew up on the cusp of the huge technology take over.  So yes, I definitely remember the time before social media.  When I was in elementary (and even middle) school, no one had cell phones.  No one had laptops either.  Now every ten-year-old flaunts around their iPhones and Macbooks.  Granted, I grew up with computers and the technology, but society hadn’t yet made it socially acceptable for fourth graders to own thousands of dollars worth of electronics.

With the huge shift we have made over the past decade, I really don’t think businesses would adjust well to having their social media outlets being taken away.  It may not be a good thing, but everyone, (and I do mean almost everyone) has become so completely reliant on social media, and the technology that puts it at their finger tips.  A world without social media?  I just can’t picture it.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. amandakep
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 08:56:06

    I agree with you. It’s so bizarre to see elementary and middle school kids with such expensive technology. The most I ever had at that age was a Gameboy and a Giga Pet.

    Everyone is so consumed in technology, the obvious being social media. I agree that everyone would freak out if it was taken away. Although, if EVERYONE was without it, it might be nice after a while.. once people got through a long adjustment period.

    Reply

  2. kaylamcglashan
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 10:11:07

    Yea I hate when I see a 8 year old with a Iphone. I didn’t even get my first cell phone till I was in highschool.

    Reply

  3. empyreus
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 23:53:14

    Yes mam, I agree. We have become extremely attached to social media.

    Reply

  4. caseyj67
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 03:50:32

    I agree with you that everyone would go into panic if social media disappeared. I made a comment in my blog also about how the ages of technology users are getting younger and younger. I got my first cell phone when I was 13 and not many people had them at the time, now a good majority of 8 year olds seem to have them.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Social Media- Blog Responses (3/21) « caseyj67
  6. WatzNew
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 09:16:59

    Thats true I remember beepers and people would write numbers that looked like words and you would flip it over and see “I love You” etc.. and huge cell phones with the long atennas. Things have certainly evolved now cell phones are so small were always losing them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

