Statesboro Businesses

What a great topic of the week!  Just this weekend I had to drive to Savannah to go to a Sprint PCS store so they could do something to my account/phone.  It’s annoying that I have to make an entire day out of something that would normally just be a twenty-minute errand.  I would probably say that everyday I wish a certain business were in town/closer to Statesboro.

The first business I would ask to build a branch here is BANK OF AMERICA.  Come on.  There are about 10,000 students who bank with them, and the little ATM inside of Russell that always has an hour long line is just not cutting it.

More restaurants would also be good.  I’m from an Atlanta suburb, and having my options change from 1,000+ to less than 10 was quite a downgrade.  I do, however, applaud Statesboro on its recent additions!  We have to start somewhere, I suppose.

We are definitely in need of a mall (or an huge expansion to our existing one–and no, the Belk addition doesn’t count.)  There are 20,000 students at Georgia Southern, so there is definitely a huge target audience that most stores could market to.  It would be such a great investment to add some new businesses/stores!  The mall we have is terrible.  We have to drive to Savannah if we ever really need anything that can’t be bought at Walmart.

And speaking of Walmart, we need a Target.  Our Walmart is so poorly stocked and even if it was nice, it still couldn’t rival Target.

I really just want to see Statesboro grow into the big(ger) city that I know it will be one day.  With Georgia Southern growing as rapidly as it has been, I think more businesses will opt to build a new location down here, or at least somewhere closer than Savannah.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. amandakep
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 01:55:31

    We’re on the same page with Target, the mall and more restaurants. And way to go on the Bank of America idea. I can’t believe I didn’t think of that. I bank with them and it’s super annoying to rely on the ATM in the union. You would think that for such a popular bank, they would have a location here for students. I’ve known people who have changed banks because there wasn’t one here. Good post!

    Reply

  2. Gianna
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 00:36:53

    I COMPLETELY agree with Bank of America. The ATM in the Union does not suffice. I also talked about wanting a mall and hating on Wal-Mart. I can count on one hand how many times I’ve been in there and they had everything I need. Target would undoubtedly be perfect as well. I hope those rumors are true!!

    Reply

  3. ryanmatherly
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 09:44:29

    I like what you said about the Bank of America and the Sprint Store. Your story about the Sprint Store is true for so many other stores in Savannah that are not in Statesboro. It would be so much easier if there were more places to go and have more twenty-minute errands and less whole days spent doing the most medial tasks. It really is kind of ridiculous.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: People Whose Posts I Commented On #6 | ryanmatherly
  5. atuggle
    Mar 04, 2011 @ 03:30:50

    The mall is a huge issue I think too! I not much of shopper ( my mom shops for me! ha) BUT when I have the money and want to go get a cute outfit or shoes, yea we have different boutiques here but it would be nice to have a MALL that provides all that!

    Reply

  6. wshurling
    Mar 04, 2011 @ 21:45:06

    I would love to see a Target in Statesboro as well. I have lived in here for 3 years now and I have yet to go to the mall so it would be a major bonus if they included something worth going to their. The bank issues is major for me because my bank is only in my hometown and hour away and it is annoying to pay $3 bucks every week when I want some cash.

    Reply

  7. christina890
    Mar 05, 2011 @ 00:32:37

    I completely agree about the Bank of America! I wrote about that too. Having to go to other ATMs and getting charged about $3.00 to get money out is ridiculous. It’s definitely time for a Bank of America!

    Reply

  8. alkeenan
    Mar 05, 2011 @ 03:44:18

    Unfortunately I feel that by the time statesboro catches up with the current times we will all be long graduated. I completely agree about the Bank of America addition, I mean how is there not a legitimate branch of the bank? Also I agree with the target comment I can’t stand wal-mart just like most everyone that attends GSU

    Reply

Leave a Reply

