iPads…and one that cost $11

I’ve got a great story to start this post off with…

Over Christmas break, my boyfriend and I were in a mall the day after his birthday making some returns, and we saw this game with very enticing prizes–one of them being an iPad.  He decided he was going to win it, and $11 later, he won the iPad hanging inside of the machine!

Steven won his iPad out of the game!

He originally wanted to sell it on ebay, but ended up keeping it and is IN LOVE with it.  Now he didn’t pay the steep price Apple asks, so of course he enjoys his even more.  The question is: Is the iPad worth $499-$829?

The only cons we’ve found is that it can’t play a cd rom or take a flash drive, but it is extremely light weight and compact, requires no software purchases/upgrades, and you can download any application imaginable for a fraction of the cost of similar Windows programs.  Not to mention–the battery life seems to go on forever, lasting almost an entire week sometimes.

He takes it to class and takes all of his notes on it (tablet style) and has downloaded many engineering applications that he seems to enjoy.  (I wouldn’t know what to do with them)  I wouldn’t say it’s a laptop replacement, because you can’t compose Microsoft word documents, print from it, or edit files.  (Though you CAN open any file and view it as a PDF.)  I think in the future, Apple may create a more “laptop-like” iPad, but for now, it’s definitely not an adequate replacement.

Though if you have the money for one, they’re quite fun and you’d be surprised at how often you end up using it for things you’d never even thought of.  It’s one of those products you don’t realize you need until you’ve experienced everything you can do with it; then you wonder how you ever got along before you had the iPad!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cj0784
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 23:05:49

    This is such an awesome story! Especially cause one of the major problems that I have with the Ipad is its ridiculous cost. I think that if you are looking for something that is lightweight and easy to manage than this would be a good buy ( if you had the money). However, as a typical college student I could not imagine spending an additional $500 for something that mimics my smart phone. Especially after buying a laptop which cost me $1000 after getting all the software I needed and a warranty that will last me until I make enough money in a real job to maybe get another one.

    Reply

  2. ryanmatherly
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 02:41:28

    Definately agree. Ipads are sleek and look great and can be useful for sure, but not like a laptop can be. I’ve had a laptop since last year and it does everything I need it to. I don’t really think I need an Ipad, but if I had the money to blow on it I think I might do it. Especially if I can find it for 11$ haha

    Reply

  3. Trackback: People whose posts I commented on | ryanmatherly
  4. bh01480
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 02:45:58

    That story is awesome! What a lucky guy! I totally agree with you that the iPads design is great and it does become super addicting, and I also agree with you on the fact that it cannot replace a laptop. Getting the iPad for $11 is amazing and unbeatable, but I do not think that it is truly worth the retail price.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

