Pet Peeves!

Oh, pet peeves.  I am easily annoyed, so I sure do have a lot of them.

NEWS ALERT: IT’S JANUARY…NOT JULY
The first one that comes to mind–boys (or girls, but especially boys) who wear flip-flops and/or shorts, when it’s clearly WINTER.  Maybe because their feet are always wet/icy, blue, and DIRTY.  I don’t know why, but it really grosses me out to the point that I can’t even find a guy attractive if he falls into that summer-all-year-round category.  Ew.

YOU’RE IN COLLEGE.  LEARN GRAMMAR.
My absolute BIGGEST pet peeve is people who do not know how to write/speak/use proper grammar.  If you’re in college, you should be able to differentiate and correctly use: there/their/they’re, your/you’re, it’s/its, to/two/too, etc.  Come on, it’s not that hard and it makes you look a lot less ignorant when you’re turning in a paper or resume.

Also, maybe it’s just the south, but what is it with double negatives??? Again, you’re in college.  It’s not okay to say, “There wasn’t no one at the door!” or “You ain’t seen nothin’ yet.”  For real, it doesn’t even make sense and it’s not cute.

And while we’re on the subject,

  • The contraction “y’all” has the apostrophe BEFORE the ‘a’ not after.  The way a contraction works is by replacing the missing letters with an apostrophe.  (you + all –> y(ou)’all –> y’all.
  • The word ‘ask’ is actually pronounced, ‘ask’ not ‘ax’ or ‘aks,’ okay, guys?
  • And the phrase is, “I couldn’t care less.”  NOT “I could care less.”  If you could care less, then you obviously care at least a little right now, which probably defeats the intent behind the statement you’re making.

 

So, basically I’m a grammar freak.  I have a lot of respect for people who are good speakers/writers.  I may come across as too uptight, but incorrect spelling/grammar/etc. is my BIGGEST pet peeve ever!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. amandakep
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 11:18:58

    I’m totally with you. Lack of grammar and spelling skills is really annoying. I can’t believe there are college students, and even some adults who don’t know the difference between your and you’re. I understand everyone is going to have a spelling error every now and then, it happens. But at least know the difference between simple words.

    Reply

  2. ryanmatherly
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 00:27:00

    I agree about the grammar thing. My dad’s an english teacher so he always gets me for stuff like that when I’m at home and it makes me notice when people use it wrong here and someitmes it gets ridiculous. Alot of the words people use just sound made up.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: People whose posts I commented on 3 | ryanmatherly
  4. carriepulliam
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 23:45:21

    After your comment on mine, I had to read yours!

    I agree with the summer-all-year-around idea that guys have. The biggest one with me is Uggs + qym shorts. Really? IT’S FREEZING! WEAR PANTS IF YOU’RE COLD!

    Grammar is another issue. What really gets me are the basics that people screw up on and to see people write/type “ya’ll” couldn’t piss me off more than it does.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: TOTW Comments for Pet Peeves. « carriepulliam
  6. tinaspeak
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 11:05:58

    Wow. That’s a lot of talk about grammar. Ha. I should start spelling things wrong to get on your nerve, just kidding. I definitely agree, but to me it is both sad and humorous when someone uses improper grammar. They definitely should know the correct way to spell and say things but it’s also funny because some people know what the correct usage is but use the slang term or incorrect use instead. What can you do? People are people.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

